Discovery and naming of the Inverloch area undoubtedly rests with Samuel Anderson who settled on the Bass River in Western Port in 1835 some six weeks after Batman and Fawkner made their famous landing in Port Phillip.
Samuel Anderson found and named the Tarwin River and the inlet which perpetuates so fittingly the name of this family. He was the first at Cape Paterson in the late 1830's using the coal for his own forge. He always believed that payable coal would be found in the vicinity and in later years the field and town of Wonthaggi justified his opinions.
Anderson Inlet became famous in the late 1870's as the haunt of one Martin Wyberg who allegedly absconded with 5000 gold sovereigns from the P&O mast steamer 'Avoca'. Pegging a section on the banks of the Tarwin he was shadowed by detectives for several years who eventually recovered a portion of the haul, but the remainder is still probably buried somewhere along the river.
Inverloch was originally the sea port for the surrounding area and shipped away coal from the Powlett River coalfield. Later Wonthaggi was settled and an inland road and rail network was developed, superseding sea-going transport.
Anderson Inlet Post Office was established in 1883 and renamed Inverloch in 1889. The first Inverloch State School opened in 1886 and two civic buildings, the Mechanics Institute Hall and the Library were built in 1897.
At the turn of the century Inverloch's Regatta Day was established. This sunsequently became the New Years Day celebration incorporating the Miss Inverloch bathing contest which was unique in Victoria at the time.
For fifty years the Foreshore Committee did much to develop the coastal area for visitors with the provision of wells and shelter sheds for campers, two enclosed bathing places with changing sheds, and toilets for campsites.
Today camping is not permitted along the coastline fines apply.
Find accommodation on the Victorian Coast www.coastalstays.com: