|Grafton Road Warrnambool VIC 3280
Horse Racing is conducted throughout the year at Warrnambool approximately 54kms from Port Campbell.
Warrnambool Racing Club is known the world over for its 3 day May Racing Carnival the highlight of which is the Grand Annual Steeplechase. More Information 03 5562 2211
|22 & 33 Bank Street Port Fairy VIC
Open: Daily during summer holidays and weekends. Surf, snorkel and bike rental. Surf lessons
|• Swim or surf only at beaches patrolled by lifeguards
• Always swim between the flags marking the area safer for swimming.
• Read and obey the signs
• Be careful where you dive – accidents often result from diving into shallow waters.
• Be aware of slippery banks and rocks when fishing
• Don’t swim under the influence of alcohol or drugs
• Always swim under supervision
• If you get into trouble in the water, stay calm. Signal for help, then float and wait for assistance
• Float with a current or undertow. Don’t try to swim against it.
• When out on the water always wear the correct safety equipment.
|Short Drives - Koroit (15 minutes North West)
|Historic township midway between Port Fairy and Warrnambool on the northern slopes of Tower Hill. Speciality shops, historic buildings, eateries
|The most popular beaches for swimming are the East Beach and Pea Soup Cove. The local surf lifesaving club patrols East Beach during peak times (always swim between the flags).
East Beach offers excellent surfing breaks, for beginners through to advanced, also popular for kite surfing.
|Port Fairy and Warrnambool
Learn to surf with professional coaches
|The Wharf Area - at its peak in the 1850’s the port was the second busiest in Australia. Wool, wheat and gold were loaded onto great sailing ships bound for England.
Today, The Wharf is a wonderful place to relax and watch the world go by. The Norfolk pines and colonial buildings form a picturesque background to the tranquil waters of the Moyne River. An active fishing fleet still operates out of the harbour which is also home to a small fleet of pleasure craft.
|Situated on Griffiths Island and constructed from local bluestone by Scottish stonemasons in 1859. The keepers cottages were demolished in the 1950’s but the lighthouse still operates on wind and solar power. The light is visible 19 kilometres out to sea.
|Located on the Princes Highway between Warrnambool and Port Fairy.
Discover ancient volcanic land formations, wildlife, aboriginal culture. Guided walks with Worn Gundidji’s experienced team. Contact Information Centre for further details.
|Griffiths Street (near Battery Lane). The lifeboat was built in Williamstown in 1857 and is the oldest surving self-right lifeboat in the world. The Lifeboat Station contains a collection of 19th century maritime rescue equipment. Guided tours are available if booked through Information Centre.